2020…What can I say?

Looking back at my New Year’s Instagram Post, I read how fantastic 2019 had been and how excited I was for another new year, a situation I am sure we all were in. How little did we know, what was in store for us! A global pandemic was definitely not on the cards for my 2020 plans!!

I think it’s obvious to say this year has been completely unexpected! This time last year, if someone had said to me I’d spend the majority of time at home, that schools would have closed, and the world would have come to a complete standstill, I probably would have laughed in disbelief. Whilst it has not been the ideal year I hoped for with various restrictions, endless lockdowns and even isolating with Covid myself, I am in fact feeling rather thankful for what has happened this year (I know that sounds absolutely crazy!).

But, 2020 has taught me some valuable lessons. It’s taken this pandemic to put everything on pause, and for me to really evaluate what’s important in my life. It’s so easy to get caught up in our daily routines of going to work and managing other responsibilities, that time seems to just pass us by, and each day blurs into the next. Back in March, when we first entered into lockdown and schools were closed, I went from having a busy diary to an empty one! All upcoming plans and events had been scraped. And yes this was disappointing, but I found I had all this time at home to spend with my family instead. I really value those few months when we were all at home together, really spending quality time with each other, instead of being preoccupied with other insignificant things. I have a new appreciation for my family – okay, it wasn’t always wonderful being stuck with each other all the time – but we’ve grown even closer through this year, and I have a greater value for the time we share with each other, the support and love they show me, and most importantly the fun and memories we’ve still created despite this crazy year!

Being in lockdown has also allowed me to meet new people, something that doesn’t seem likely! During the initial lockdown, I finally decided to give Penpals a go, something I’ve always been so interested in trying. I signed up to a penpal site, and have since connected with people from all over the world! I am writing to a few people on a regular basis or speaking online frequently to them. I am so grateful for the people I have met and it’s been lovely to discover more about their lives and experiences, and I really value the friendships I’ve found there. If lockdown hadn’t happened, I most likely would not have made the decision to do this, so this is definitely one good thing to have come out of lockdown! I’ve also connected with fellow Christians, and it is so amazing to share my experiences and faith with people from all around the world, from the comfort of my own home! I’ve also received lots of encouragement and reminders from them too, which has helped me to stay positive and hopeful.

Most importantly though, having all this time at home has given me the much needed time and space to greater focus on my own relationship with God. Reading back through the blog posts I’ve shared during this last year, I can really see such a different within myself! I began this year feeling disappointed, lost and at a fairly low-point within my faith. God had been challenging me to become more patient, to trust and wait on Him more, instead of trying to control things myself. Throughout the year, I’ve spent time reflecting upon these weaknesses, seeking more of God and His word, praying for His support and guidance, and slowly I could begin to see how my faith and relationship was being renewed. At the end of the year, I am now feeling so much more contented and confident, my spiritual relationship is stronger, and my outlook now is filled with greater excitement to discover the plans God has for me, rather than be consumed with doubts and anxiety. God still has not finished with me yet, and I pray He continues to challenge and shape me into the person I was created to be, and now rather than fight against God’s will for my life, I am ready to follow the direction He moves me towards with a much more willing heart!

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understandings. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”

Proverbs 3:5-6

As we look towards 2021, a brand new year, we have no guarantee of what’s to come. Am I anxious? Honestly, yes: I am still worried about the ‘unexpectedness’ around the corner, however I know that whatever comes my way, I am not alone. The bible verse that springs to mind that we should carry forward into the new year is thus:

“If God is for us, who can be against us?”

Romans 8:31

Whatever happens in 2021, we need not be fearful for our God is always with us and knows exactly what’s in store for us. We just need to remain strong in our faith and trust that He has got everything in hand; He knows the plans for our lives!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Jeremiah 29:11

So going forward, I am not marking 2020 as a ‘pointless’ or ‘rubbish’ year, because although their has been much devastation, God has still be able to use this time to further develop and strengthen my relationship and faith, and has helped me to realise what I should be investing my time in most. My aim for 2021 is therefore simply to seize and make the most out of each day, to truly live in the moment and not give in to my fears or doubts, to love others endlessly and live my life fully for God!

I wish you all a very Happy and Blessed New Year! 🙂 x

“But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength; they will fly up on wings like eagles; they will run and not be tired; they will walk and not be weary.”

Isaiah 40:31

Published by Megan

25 ~ Christian ~ Reception Teacher ~ Travel ~ Photography

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started