Something to think about…

I am an over-thinker. I fall victim far too often to giving my thoughts far too much time and attention. I replay past conversations or events over in my head, or get caught up worrying over something in the future – even an insignificant or imagined one! In particular, when it involves things beyond my control, my overthinking mind goes into overload.

Being an over-thinker is part of who I am; I can’t change how God wired me up, but I often get frustrated at myself. When I spend too much time in my own thoughts I usually feel myself spiralling down a road of negativity. It is at times like these I know I need to get my Bible out and reflect on God’s Word.

“Sometimes you have to get out of your head and into His word”

The Bible is filled with so many verses of encouragement and reassurance – they remind us of God’s constant presence, that He is in control, and He is there to help us.

“Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares for you.”

1 Peter 5:7

“The Lord himself will fight for you. Just stay calm.”

Exodus 14:14

“So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”

Matthew 6:34

“This is my command – be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

Joshua 1:9

“Your mind is a garden. Your thoughts are the seeds. You can grow flowers or you can grow weeds.”

Fill your thoughts with the Words of God and plant those ‘good seeds’, which will allow you to flourish and grow; whether that be in confidence, in faith, in strength etc. Next time you find yourself overthinking a situation, picture yourself as a gardener: prune away at your insecurities, dig up those doubts and pull out those weeds of negativity. Water and nurture your ‘flowers’ of faith, by feeding your mind with the truths and promises of God. Before you know it, your mind will be in full bloom and you’ll find yourself seeing things more clearly.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek His will in all you do, and He will show you which path to take.”

Proverbs 3:5-6

“Now may the Lord of peace himself gives you His peace at all times and in every situation. The Lord be with you all.”

2 Thessalonians 3:16

Published by Megan

25 ~ Christian ~ Reception Teacher ~ Travel ~ Photography

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started